Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia, Italy

Data Center Description
The legislative decree n. 381 of 29 September 1999 founded the new Istituto
Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia, which become one of the largest European
research institutions. The INGV main research fields are in geophysics,
seismology and volcanology. The Institute comprises eight main Departments
located in five main centers (ROME, MILAN, CATANIA, PALERMO, and NAPOLI). Part
of INGV are also two National Groups. President Prof. Enzo Boschi.

The Rome departments of the Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia
(INGV) comprise the activities and the staff of the former Istituto Nazionale
di Geofisica (ING), the public agency of research established in 1936 by
Guglielmo Marconi with the purpose of "promoting, executing and coordinating
studies and researches on the physical phenomena of the Earth and their
practical applications".

The Rome departments are articulated as it follows:

* Central Administration
* Seismology and Tectonophysics
* Geomagnetism, Aeronomy and Environmental Geophysics
* National Earthquake Center


[Summary provided by the Rome Departments of the Instituto Nazionale de
Geofisica e Vulcanologia.]

Data Center URL